PA DUI Penalties

What are the Penalties for a DUI in Pennsylvania?

Penalties for a DUI in Pennsylvania range from probation all the way up to state incarceration without work release. In addition to those penalties you may also be looking at lengthy license suspensions and CDL disqualification. The range of punishment depends on how many prior DUI convictions you have and your blood alcohol content (BAC) for the current offense.

First Offense DUI Penalties

Like all DUIs in Pennsylvania, the possible range of penalties for a first offense depends on your blood alcohol content. Below is the range of possible sentencing:

Statute Statutory Minimum License Suspension?
General Impairment (75 Pa.C.S. § 3802(a)) 6 months probation No
High Blood Alcohol (75 Pa.C.S. § 3802(b)) 48 hours to 6 months incarceration Yes
Highest Blood Alcohol,(75 Pa.C.S. § 3802(c)) 72 hours to 6 months incarceration Yes

Second Offense DUI Penalties

Below are the minimum penalties for a second offense DUI in Pennsylvania depending on the amount of alcohol in the blood.

Statute Statutory Minimum License Suspension?
General Impairment (75 Pa.C.S. § 3802(a)) 5 days to 6 months incarceration Yes
High Blood Alcohol (75 Pa.C.S. § 3802(b)) 30 days to 6 months incarceration Yes
Highest Blood Alcohol,(75 Pa.C.S. § 3802(c)) 90 days to 5 yearsincarceration Yes

Third Offense DUI Penalties

Below are the mandatory minimum sentences in Pennsylvania for third offense DUIs. They are grouped based on the blood alcohol content (BAC).

Statute Statutory Minimum License Suspension?
General Impairment (75 Pa.C.S. § 3802(a)) 10 days to 2 years incarceration Yes
High Blood Alcohol (75 Pa.C.S. § 3802(b)) 90 days to 5 yearsincarceration Yes
Highest Blood Alcohol,(75 Pa.C.S. § 3802(c)) 1 year to 5 years incarceration Yes